Tags

Some people listen to the radio while they’re doing the washing up. I listen to lectures by Will Self, or sometimes the late, great Christopher Hitchens taking someone apart in a debate on the existence of God. I don’t like the radio, because I don’t get to choose and most people just annoy me. For some reason, these combative and irascible intellectuals don’t wind me up at all.

Here, Self discusses the solitary nature of reading*.  However, my eleven- year-old daughter and I still read to each other.  At the moment, we are sharing John Wyndham’s The Midwich Cuckoos. It is unintentionally funny in places, but we are enjoying it.

*And many other things, such as the necessity of isolation for a novel writer. My laptop is so very slow, that it makes me leave out, half of what I intended to say.

